'99 LP 100 "Barn Find" Refurb

Reaction score
Hi there,

Noob here. Wanted to say thanks again to all those who weighed in on whether my LP was legit. I'd menetioned that it was a "barn find" project and that I'd post progress here, in case anyone was interested.

So, first the backstory. This is my first electric *ever* and questionably, I also chose to make it my first project.

I found the guitar on a local classified site and set-up a meet for the transaction. The seller assured me that it was structuarlly and electronically sound, but had been abused. All the cliches came out for this one - dodgy side of town, night time, rain. I pulled the dust-caked, broken stringed, dinged and damaged guitar out of a filthy gig bag and gave it a quick ( and boy do I mean "quick") once-over under a street light to make sure there weren't any obvious structural flaws. He was right, it was a mess. I handed over a couple of 20's, and he thanked me saying, "great, now I can go buy some food..."

I rationalized that if nothing else, I was investing in an education. It was the same approach I used with bicycles, motorcycles and boats - the first one should always be something solid and classic, but dirt cheap that you won't mind breaking, so that you'll be skilled and competent when it's time to move on to the good stuff.

I pulled this out of the bag...

small.jpg

Last edited:
Reaction score
The strap lock at the neck was a 3" wood screw, the schmutzy dreck top left was nasty hardened glue residue from what appeared to be duct tape and it ran halfway down the back and along the neck. My guess is that when the strap lock broke he likely tried to keep the strap on with duct tape, and then just lost interest.

3F3E9E1B-0C78-44E6-B8E6-67FEC81CC7D9.jpeg

Last edited:
Reaction score