Honest question >> How do people afford very expensive guitars?

• Thread starter Jam Handy
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Jam Handy

Reaction score
Once a guitar price goes over $2,000 (to me) that is expensive. I'm just really curious what kind of employment (if you don't mind saying) or how do people afford guitars that are $2,000, $3,000, $4,000 and more?

Let me explain my social situation... in 2016 I was permanently disabled and now I live on SSI social security disability of $783/mo. I do some part-time work-from-home stuff for a music store uploading new products to his web page. Before being disabled I was a contract field engineer for the telephone companies across the US and made (depending on the contract) $60k-$90k annually. Even at that wage with a wife and family I thought these guitars were still out of my price range.

An R9 Gibson Les Paul is $6,500 these days. A Gibson LP Custom is $4,700. USA-made PRS's quickly hit the $3,000-$4,000 mark.

I think some of these guitars are amazingly beautiful and I can understand the pride in ownership for sure. But I'd like to hear from folks (especially) that own 2 or 3 or more of these guitars at these prices... How did you buy them, what do you do for employment, and just plain how can anyone middle class or upper middle class afford guitars like this?

A few guesses on my part...
- Is it as the pun says they are "doctor and lawyer" guitars, only doctors and lawyers can really afford them?
- You have super good credit and you were able to throw one on your VISA or other credit card (or a store credit card)?
- You worked it out on a layaway of some kind? (maybe the store extended the layaway past the regular 90-days?) (I've done this before)
- You inherited wealth or created wealth well and above upper middle class norms?