90s Epiphone LP - is it worth upgrading?

Brody88

Reaction score
It's my first post, so apologies if I ask any stupid questions.

My background is I'm in the UK, I've owned guitars for 20+ years, but I'm neither particularly good as a player, nor do I know much about guitars, upgrades, fixes, etc.

I've had an Epiphone LP since the late 90s. Nice cherry sunburst with a tremolo bar. For a guitar of it's age, it's not been played a lot, as I went months and years without playing. In recent years I've been playing regularly and bought 2 other electrics. The LP would be joint or maybe outright second choice player, all going well, but not lonely to jump to the top.

A local tech has told me it needs some fretwork but is otherwise in great condition for age. I'm thinking of ways to potentially upgrade and he's suggested pickups, which makes sense. My question is - is it worth spending £300ish upgrading a very old Epiphone guitar vs spending a bit more on a new LP type guitar (or, dare I say it, making do with just two electrics)? I'm unlikely to sell it, so it's not so I can get the money back later - but I don't want to throw £300 at it, to end up with it sounding like a £500 guitar, only 20 years old. Does that make sense?

I'd be grateful for any thoughts (and recommendations for PUs). I'm an OK strummer, and don't play lead, or anything too heavy, I'm not looking to shred.

Thanks for your time!

Winnie Thomas

Reaction score
Does it sound okay with the current pickups? My 1989 was a bit too dark with the originals. The guitars from Korea seem to now be sought after.

For new pickups, you might search out some used ones and save a few pounds.

BGood

Reaction score
It's hard to judge your fretwork without seeing it, but it certainly hasn't gotten worst all those years not being played. Do you feel the frets aren't at their best ? The guitar might jut need a good setup.